top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Mears

Austria

Updated: Nov 16, 2020

At the border crossing there was a combined shop and restaurant but it was not open at this time but looking around I saw a sign for another Eurovelo route 13, The Iron Curtain Trail which lead all the way to Bratislava. It was slightly longer than the road route I had planned but decided that this would be the best option and pressed on.


The route was great and I was shedding clothes as the sun rose but then started to head deeper into Austria and thought to myself I should have taken a photo of the map at the Austrian border so I has something to refer to. I pressed on and fortunately soon came to a rest point where I could see that it was not long before I would be making the turn for the border and planned a coffee stop on the Austrian side.



Sure enough as I pulled into Hohenauah der March I spied a bakery with a queue out the door which I joined and was soon enjoying coffee and a pastry in the morning sunshine.

A coffee break in Austria

After a few minutes basking in the sun I made a hurried exit from Austria over a single track bridge which was controlled by traffic lights. There was a steep incline up and I didn't want a repeat of yesterday when a crazy Czech driver drove at me as he had a green light. I had not cleared the road in time so obviously he was entitled to run me over of course!


It was a mad dash to avoid this happening again but I was into the next country and heading for lunch in Slovakia.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page