top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Mears

Drivers Table

Updated: Mar 19, 2020

I thought I would start a table to drivers to record my experiences along the way using The Netherlands as a benchmark here we go!


1 The Netherlands - It helps that bike have right of way at junctions but always bike aware and given space.


2 Germany - Go whizzing past you or stop and crawl by but still give you plenty of room.


2 Kazakhstan - Only on the road for two days but generally very good and courteous drivers a couple of altercations with city drivers who thought I should be on the pavement though.


2 Thailand - Over the many miles I covered in my two visits to Thailand I can't recall any negative incidents with drivers or crashes.


3 England - A few close passes and cars driving right up my chuff


3 Malaysia - Too many close passes for my liking and a road rage incident whilst getting out of Kuala Lumpur.


3 Myanmar - Generally I found it pretty good but did have a couple of run ins with cars in the cities and a drive who didn't like me weaving up a steep hill.


3 Turkey - Overall not too bad is you exclude Istanbul which if just mad! Double parking seems to be the national pastime, signals are optional and it seems you can cut up cyclist as long as you blow your horn first! But on a positive side lots of encouragement from drivers with some stopping to offer assistance if I looked in need of it.


3 Bulgaria - More relaxed compared with Serbia and Romanian but a few inpatient drivers as I made slow progress up the hills.


3 Georgia - Was a bit alarmed as I entered Georgia of the sheer number of cars with bits missing but despite a coupe of altercations with cars trying to get up a steep hill and some impatient drivers was not too bad navigating a 5 line highway on the way into Tbilisi moved it down the table as I was give a reasonable amount of space.


3 Azerbaijan - All Fiat/Lada drivers are mad and as about half the population have them that is a lot of mad people. I think they compensate for the lack of power by driving then at full speed everywhere!

That said apart from a few dodgy overtakes I got a good reception in the country I think my Turkey cycling top helped and there are strong links between the two countries.


I think I might have to move them up the rankings after this trip to the mud volcanoes!




4 Czech Republic - The number of roadside memorials gives and indication of the driving standards with loads of cars speeding past at I even nearly got take out by an ambulance who clipped the apex despite me pulling over there!

This memorial seems to be mourning the car more than the driver

4 Hungary - More close passes and another Ambulance incident when one overtook me approaching a junction but then nearly reversed over me.


4 Tajikistan - These guys do not take any prisoners on the rough roads of the Pamir its foot to the floor in their 4x4 s especially half the second hand Land Cruisers in the world that seem to be tearing along here.


4 Uzbekistan - Great in the desert where there was plenty of room and can't thank the guy too much who came to my rescue when I had heat stroke but put them in a city and they are a bunch of nutters! Special mention to the little mini vans which deserve a category of their own but I think I was able to push around!


4- Cambodia - They were doing so well, except negotiating the junctions was a bit dicey as anything which didn't have a traffic light on which was about 95% of them seemed to be unmarked crossings even when two main roads came together. It kind of worked if you proceeded confidently with caution but not always.

To be fair that is not the Cambodian's fault but what docked them marks was the Chinese New Year traffic when I got undertaken and had a couple of Indian style head on situations when lorries start ridiculous overtaking maneuvers and announce by sounding their horn and flashing lights that you need to serve off the road to avoid the collision they are about to cause!


5- Serbia - Wow not much personal space here you have to keep you elbows in I even got cut up by a police car and the traffic diverted was created.


5 Romanian - Still a country of speed freaks with a few incidents of drivers overtaking me and playing chicken with oncoming traffic.


6 Nepal - India light most of the madness less Salmoning and horns but all the other rules apply including including the right of way to the most reckless driver with everyone else having to avoid the pile up!



7 India - Rules of the road do your own thing and blow your horn!

It usually works!

Usually

....but not always


Let's see where the other countries slot in.


...To Be Continued

65 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page