top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Mears

Overcoming the Language Barrier

With my unclassified result at French GCSE this will be a sizeable barrier when coming up against Johnny Foreigner.


Other than relying on the usual approach of repeating thing louder I can see me using Google translate and a translation app for assistance but also have a few less technical options such as this point it book I picked up when I lived in Budapest.


I can change my mind and ask where I can buy I moped, check if this establishment has a proper toilet or what the drinks options are at the local yurt!

One tip I found when reading Alastair Humphreys'account of his cycle trip around the world was to make page with a happy and sad face on and then if you enjoyed your meal or not get the staff to write it down under each so you start to build up a list you can show at the next place.



First challenge is I like chicken but I do not like eggs

Finally I have found a universal translator for any mad dogs I come across to have this ultrasonic alarm close to hand which says in any language "Stop chasing the man on the bike!!"

157 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page