top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Mears

Thailand

Updated: May 4, 2020

After leaving Myanmar I crossed over the bridge and over the road as here they drive on the left. There was a set of traffic lights in the middle of the river to ensure there was an orderly change of sides and avoid head on collisions!


Once I had navigated the Thailand border which was a bit uncomfortable as I had to push into the front of a mile long queue of Thai nationals who I somehow had priority over then was free to enter Thailand or so I thought as I was on the road for half a mile when I got to this sign.


I swung into Mae Sot and after a bit of back and forth as the hotel was not where it was shown I managed to find my bolt hole for the Christmas break. This was a brand new four star hotel which was offering Travelodge prices as a soft opening deal so I took full advantage.


It was about 1 pm when I arrived got my bike stored away had a shower then set about washing all my dirty kit from the last few days. I did however, make it down to the pool to make the most of the last couple of hours of sunlight.


The soft opening of the hotel had not extended to the bar or restaurant so later I headed out to explore the city but it was pretty dead with just a few places none of which looked particularly lively.


The Border Bar for example had just two cats manning the bar who refused to serve me so I moved on.


Looks like it might be a quiet Christmas this year. I explored the city and found a few more temples to bag one was very Chinese influence and one was worshiping cockerels with a few zebras thrown in for a bit of species diversity.


Not seen these for a while! Salted caramel Magnum oh go one then it's nearly Christmas

I had a great few days in Mae Sot it looks like, as in a lot of countries, Christmas Eve is the big celebration as there was a street parade I that I saw when out shopping.


In the evening there was also a big party at my hotel. I was tempted to join in but then saw it was very family orientated and formal with place settings so I decided to give it a wide berth and headed across town for a pizza.

Always have mixed nuts at Christmas but this was the best I could do needs must!

Whilst in Mae Sot I managed to get both the front and back screens of my phone replaced so I can take photos again and also view them properly.


When I climbed through the hills to leave Myanmar I noticed the movement in my bottom bracket, which the pedal cranks fix onto, which started in India was getting worse so I managed to find a bike shop that could replace it.


I asked him to look at the steering head which was also not turning smoothly. He greased it up which made it better but said it needed new bearings which he didn't have so that stays on the to do list for now.


Over Christmas I also finalised my plans for this last phase of my ride. I always know I was going to have some time in hand at this point and had come up with what I called The Laos Loop which was from here in Mae Sot I would turn north to Chiang Mai and the on into Laos following the Mekong river down into Cambodia. Then I would come back into Thailand for a second time to make my way onto the peninsular heading south to Singapore.


This initially worked on paper but once I started to put detours in to places I wanted to go to like Vientiane and Phnom Penh plus also allowing for days off sight seeing it all got a bit tight. I also found out researching where to go in Thailand there some amazing ancient temple sights in the central area which I would be missing so decided to head south to Bangkok. From there I would then do a reduced loop just into Cambodia and pick up the daddy of the all Angkor Wat.


On Boxing Day it may have been a public holiday but I was back to work. There were two climbs to get east to the city of Tak which was 55 miles away so I decided I would ease myself in and leave at lunchtime do the first climb today and the second tomorrow.


Once I had cleared the city the road started to climb into the hills and was good quality with a wide hard shoulder I was able to use but this was replaced with a third crawler lane on the hills so unfortunately I then had to mix it with the trucks when climbing.


At the top of the first climb there was a shrine with a Buddha statue adorned with a seven headed serpent.

...and a lot more cockerels event some live ones in the mix! I wonder what they were thinking, maybe " are we supposed to be stood to attention like all the others?"


I dropped down to where I had hoped to stay tonight, the place was described as a resort but on booking.com had no rooms available. There was not much else so I thought I would give them a try on the off chance but when I got there the resort consists of two small chalets which were clearly occupied so I rode on.


There was another guest house 10 miles away but is was 4 pm and uphill so I might not get there before sunset.

Chocolate flavoured icecream with condensed non dairy creamer ......What the flip!

I was down to 4 mph so it was touch and go and the sun was sinking so when I saw this sign and decide to cut my losses and investigate whether this spot as a possible camp site.


There was a secluded spot at the end of the car park behind a mound of earth. It had toilets and a cafe so I decided that this place would do for the night.


I had a lovely al la carte meal of shrimp pot noodle and of course a Classic Magnum which I ate in reverse order so that one didn't melt whilst the other cooled and I enjoyed the view.


The extra uphill miles I had done yesterday meant that it was now 70 miles to Sukhothai which is the ancient capital of Thailand and I was going to take a day off to explore.


So as this was now mostly downhill or flat I decided that would be my target for today and got and early start. That lasted about 150 metres when I saw the cafe was open and stopped for a cappuccino! I met a lovely Dutch/Thai couple there, we talked about my trip, photos were taken this blog site shared and the husband Tim gave me his card with the offer of dinner when I get to Kuala Lumpur.

I had a short climb then it was time to pin my ears

back for a big downhill.


In no time I had covered the first 20 miles and pulled in at a look-a-like Starbucks next to a petrol station for another cappuccino and a snack.


I'm really spoiling myself today!



I reached the city of Tak by about 9.30am and was beginning to see that Thailand is a lot more like Europe than I had expected with cycle lanes, Magnums and Tescos.


It was then all pretty plain sailing on flat roads to hammer out the next 50 miles although the wind was getting up and kept vering from a side wind to being more head on that started to slowed progress a bit.

Countdown to the capital

I had planned to stay 5-6 miles up the road in the modern city but as I rode through the old city I was strangely drawn to this hostel so enquired if there were any beds available? I was in luck so booked in and now had the ruins on my doorstep to explore tomorrow.



I had a leisurely breakfast which was enforced as I was there at 7.30 and it was served at 8 but only consisted of a banana and a fried egg.


So banana eaten I packed up my stuff for the day and rode my bike down the road and had a fruit pancake and an ice coffee as it was warming up.



It was free entry into the ancient city but I had to pay 10 Baht which is 25p for the bike which was essential transport around the vast grounds with lots of hire shops dotted around. I was strange coming face to face with western tourists again which I had not seen in numbers since leaving Kathmandu.


The ruins were very impressive and there were also visualisations to show how each building would have looked when it was originally constructed.


Right 120 miles to cover in the next two days to get to the city of Nakhori Sawan where I will spend the New Year. I need to be in a hotel with WiFi tonight to make a call back home to my sisters but there was not one half way so that meant I had 50 miles to cover today and 70 miles tomorrow.


Not a massively early start then andI made really good progress on a quiet back road. Champagne riding.

I decided to break the day into a 20 mile section then two of 15 which worked OK.


At the end of the first 20 miles I stopped at a garage and was excited that they had a Walls freezer and the prospect of another Magnum but all they had was this cheaper alternative called Top 10. I think it might make it into my top 20.


The young woman was asking me about my journey while her daughter played with a Baby Shark toy.


Baby Shark na na na na na na Baby Shark na na na na na na Bay Shark na na na na na na Baby Shark


Her Uncle was also giving my bike a good inspection and gave it the thumbs up.


I was now on a busy dual carriageway and got called over by the police at one point who were shouting "where are you going?" as I sped past. They were on the other side of the road so I thought I'd better go and speak to them so I did a U turn and rode over.


The one who shouted asked me a series of questions the usual ones and then proceed to give me directions to my hotel. I didn't cut across him and say I had GPS so when that was done they stopped the traffic so I could cross the road and continue.


Temple of the day a shrine to Fanta!

As I homed in on Kamphaeng Phet where I would be staying tonight some more ruined temples came into sight. At the first you could make out the remains of a seated Buddha then passed this were the city walls which were slowly being consumed by trees a then larger temple could be found.


I got to the end and my reward for the day was a soak in a hot bath and the nearest thing I will get to a white Christmas this year!



Later on that night after having what were billed as The Best Ribs in Thailand which I am not going to put to the test by eating all the rest but were pretty good.

I then put a call into our family Christmas meal to speak with my sisters and their families.


There was great excitement with the older kids who I had all bought a book on microadventures the author of which had inspired me to start small and obviously snowballed a bit.



They were all thinking of what they would like to do as I also said I would fund an adventure they want to do in 2020.


OK the last ride of 2020 now with about 75 miles to get to the city of Nakhon Sawan where I would bring in the New Year.

It was a time trial road today flat and straight so head down and push push push.


The first 20 miles when past fast I didn't feel like I needed a break such is my level of fitness now but I know that if I didn't then I would run out of steam later in the day so pulled in at a roadside coffee shop for a brew.


At 40 miles the temperature was rising and I pulled over again.

With no Magnums in the freezer of dreams I made a radical departure in the frozen confectionery and when for something more refreshing.


Lime flavoured Solero it was a bit sharp but did the trick along with a hand full of apples as I was being healthy for once.


This increasing heat could be the shape of things to come as whilst I am travelling south the sun is now moving north to come and meet me.


There was not much scenery to speak of today just the long straight road stretching ahead. I have to say it is very much like being in western europe out here with shops and food outlets clustered around the filling station to create small roadside services. Yes before you ask I did manage to restrain myself from the KFC!


I had a more traditional meal of chicken and rice for my lunch as, in addition to the fast food brands they also have a few independant food outlets.


I hit the road with 25km to go and in no time at all I was hitting the city limits.



Wait a minute is that the golden M I see before me? When did I last visit a McDonalds Tbilisi I think? Again you will be impressed that I rode past but just shows how civilisation is coming towards me.


I arrived 24 hours early at the hotel but they had a room spare which was good. I settled in and then headed up for a drink at the rooftop bar to find a Scottish beer which had travelled even further than me to get here!


Ather this I took a wander down town and to a man made lake in the centre of the city with a park at one end in which there was a lantern festival. Highlights are below:


On my day off I went for a massage as I usually do if I can find somewhere. This one was most unusual as I got bent in all sorts of shapes and had to stop a couple of time as I got cramp, first in my foot and then my leg. I think it did more harm than good!


New Year was a bit of a none event as I found a big bar with a stage set up for a live band. At 10 pm no band had appeared and I was starting to feel tired and headed back to my hotel. I put Countdown Bangkok on the TV but only made it to 11 pm.


This was probably for the best as I wanted to hit the road early today and had 80 miles to ride in order to visit the monkey temple at Lopburi which was another of the recommended sights.


I was back on the highway again and the same old same old of the long straight road to power down but there was a wide hard shoulder which I was able to use so progress was good if not a bit monotonous. I passed another McDonalds as I left the city but as I had fuelled up on the buffet breakfast at the hotel was not tempted but I'm sure my resolve will weaken.

As I rode along I tried to remember the last time I had a McDonalds and think it was actually in Trabzon in Turkey which would have been over six months ago.


I hit the 20 mile mark and my first break of the day which was a large iced coffee.


I caught up with some New Year messages from people who with the time difference were still partying at home then set off.


However as I dropped off the shop pavement there was no bounce in my back tyre as it was flat as a pancake!

I have not had one of those in ages! Punctures I mean not pancakes that was a few days ago!


I found a piece of wire in the tyre which I removed and then banged in another inner tube and was off.


The road was getting busier now I guess with people heading back to Bangkok after spending the New Year with their families. I thought in the UK not many people could find there car let alone drive it on New Year's morning.

Heavy traffic

Despite it being three lanes people were using the hard shoulder as a super fast lane to speed their progress. The odd motorbike was OK but soon lots of fast cars where trying to squeeze between me and the traffic in the slow lane to get past.

It was hot and frustrating work trying to keep as far in as possible and one eye in my mirror. The wind was getting up more from the side but with a touch of headwind in it which slowed me down a bit.


At my next stop I bought an orange drink which came with lots of crushed ice so I scooped that all into my water bottle and was off again.


Lunch was again at a roadside service station cafe where there was a hot buffet which meant point and rice this gets across the language barrier.


Then at last I got to turn off the highway to hell onto a quieter road with only a thin hard shoulder which was badly maintained but at least gave me safer passage.


Turning east meant that I now had a full on headwind for the last 15 miles which is just what you need at the end of a long day. No sorry I'll correct that a puncture is just what you don't need at the end of a long day but as I approached the hotel I planned to stay at my back tyre was soft again.


I'll deal with that in the morning I thought as I wanted to go sightseeing before the sun went down!


I had a quick wash of me and my cycling gear with the constant sound of monkeys crashing round outside my room. I then headed off to the monkey temple which I had passed on my way into the city.





I took a few videos whilst I was there the best are below.




It was really hard to take videos as if you stood still for too long the young monkey would jump up on you and it's pretty hard to keep the camera steady when there is a monkey on your back!


Here's me being stalked by one!


After this I explored the other ruins in the city as the sun went down.


Not far to cycle today as it is just over 40 miles to the next site of Ayutthaya where there was a find ruined city to visit before I get to Bangkok. I was delayed leaving as I had to repair the puncture from yesterday and patch up two inner tubes but with that done I headed off.


I was following for once a back road route that MapsMe had suggested. There was no breakfast at the hotel so unsure if there would be any food on route I stopped at a seven eleven as I left the city to pick up a couple of sandwiches.


The sausage bread was OK but the impressive quadruple ham sandwich was a bit bland.


I showed my route to the hotel manager who said it was nice and follows a canal south so was looking forward to a nice quiet ride next to the water. The road although a minor one was quite wide but the canal which you can see to the left, was more of an irrigation channel which at the moment was dry.


As I rode along I could see many Archimedes screw pumps waiting for the water level to rise to they could start transferring it to the neighbouring fields.


I thought I would just have one break today at halfway so I saw a sign for a bus cafe with a picture of a double decker London bus in the right location so thought that would be fun to stop at. The bus ended up being a small single deck variety and the iced coffee matched as despite the a large cup is seemed to contain a gallon of ice and a thimble of coffee as one good slurp and it was gone!


The staff quizzed me as I sat there on my trip and the obligatory photo was taken when I left.


Unsatisfied with my coffee intake I found another Seven Eleven down the road and had the reverse a few ice cubes and a gallon of coffee for less than half the cafe price. Despite my late start I was on target to get to Ayutthaya with time for some sightseeing but then my back tyre started to go soft and it looked like I had yet another puncture. It was only about 5 miles to go so I pumped the tyre up and pressed on. The temperature had risen now and my bottles water was luke warm so I pulled in at a shop and bought a nice cold coke.


I think that caused a caffeine overdose that loosed my bowels as I suddenly needed the loo! After about 3 miles with no toilet in sight my tyre was flat again so I put the bike in the shelter of a shrine and pumped it up whilst squeezing my lemon.


I attended a presentation course some years ago and the trainer said that to improve your posture when standing to present you should imagine you have a lemon between you buttocks and squeeze it. He would always say "right stand up ,squeeze you lemon and start!"


I made it into Ayutthaya and arrived at the hostel I intended to stay at to find the shutter down. There was a guest house next door and I enquired about the price. This was three times what the hostel would have been but with no pressure in my back tyre but plenty in my backside I made the decision to stay and asked to be swiftly shown to my room!


The woman at the hotel had been to university in England as reading my blog and asking me all about my trip as I mended my puncture. This was in exactly the same place as the last but try as I might I could not find anything that caused it.


She recommended I go to a temple on the outskirts of the city to view the sunset after visiting the ancient city so I took my bike so I could ride out there.


The city was spread over two sites each with a model showing how they would have looked when originally constructed. The temples were amazing but I think they should have spent a bit more on foundations for some of them!






The two cities were so vast that as you can see the sun when down as I explored.


Rather than set off on a doomed ride to the temple and arrive in darkness I stopped off at a bar for a cool one and to review the photos I had taken.



Right 50 miles today to make it into Bangkok and a few days rest. I put bike into MapsMe and it suggested what looked like a sensible route avoiding the main highways so I pressed start and was off.

The first 15 miles were along country roads and I made good progress.


There were however no seven elevens for once so I could not get a gallon of iced coffee I was becoming accustomed to at this time of the morning to have with the muffins the lady at the guest house had given to me.


I did find a small shop with a bench outside where I managed to find some orange juice instead and sat in the shade to rest my legs.


The route again was following a canal south but this one had some water in it which made it more photogenic.


You could tell I was getting near to a city because you could see some MAMILs on the road which I had not seen before, Middle Aged Men In Lycra.


What a pretty railway station

They were mostly going the other way but when I stopped to take this photo above a guy on a road bike went past. When I remounted he was in the distance and there was another approaching. Well you can guess what happened I set off in hot pursuit to see what my fitness level was like. I was pushing hard but only seemed to be keeping pace with him but then it was clear he was gradually easing away.


After about a mile we came to some traffic lights on red which he stopped at but they turned green as I was approaching. He was not out of the blocks fast but I was at full speed so I was closing quickly. I was amused at the thought of getting behind him and on his wheel without him noticing then him turning round to see me on a fully loaded bike. Soon he was gaining speed and the gap stopped closing then stretched as he rode off unaware of the madness that had just unfolded behind him.


I looked back and the other cyclist was nowhere to be seen so I slowed my pace to something more sensible and stopped to take another shot of the canal.

As I walked back to the bike the other cyclist I had seen went past who was an old local in cycling club gear so I set off in pursuit of him as well. I got up to full speed and started to reel him in quickly he was not going at speed. There was no point getting on his wheel so I gave him a wave as I passed.


Then I had a crash. This car was stopping and starting the sort of thing that happens when you are looking to an address so I hung back but then he stopped suddenly I swerved to miss it bit my rear pannier caught the rear wing and came off.


I got to the side of the road and the guy got out of his car with a phone I thought here we go he wants my details as I guess that was my fault but there seemed to be no damage to the car and he helped me get my pannier back on we shook hands and I was on my way.


I soon hit the city limits of Bangkok and followed a series of minor roads which were running alongside the rail tracks at street level.


or underneath the elevated skytrain as I passed the airport and headed further into the city.

With 10 miles left to go I spotted a seven eleven under the skytrain and pulled over to finally get my daily fix of iced coffee/lolly before making the last push into the centre.


I was mixing it now with downtown traffic and was nearly taken out a couple of times by left turners but managed to survive.

The side of the road left in this country is the safest place to be but you still get some idiots who don't think about bikes.


Then guess what my front tyre was starting to go soft a puncture! I only had a couple of miles to go so again I pumped it up and hoped for the best.


It thankfully held the pressure as I negotiated the tight street of downtown.


I found my hotel with no problem got my bike stored checked in and headed down the road for a welcome beer and the start of a few days off.


I managed to do some sightseeing whilst in the city the first stop being the Grand Palace within the grounds of which is a temple complex which houses the Wat Phra Kaew (Temple of the Emerald Buddha). I took many photographs or more to the point my guide did most with me in them so have broken these down to two sets below.


The Grand Palace


Wat Phra Kaew


The Wat Phra Kaew (Temple of the Emerald Buddha) is the large pagoda on the last photo and is up there with The Taj Mahal in terms of worst experiences.


It is a large rectangular building with two entrances one exit and no means of visitor control other than guards who constantly blow whistles. This diminished the visitor experience to Thailand's most holy site to something more related to a ski lift queue at a busy french resort.


There were all manner of people jostling to get in, view the emerald Buddha at a distance and then be propelled toward the scrum to get out of the temple space. This was an utter shambles it's probably actually worse because at least it is cold in a ski resort but all this is conducted in stifling heat.


After a hard days sightseeing I broke and had my first McDonalds in over six months!

I returned to the Grand Palace the next morning to take the ferry across the Chao Phraya river and visit the exquisite Wat Arun (The Temple of Dawn). The temple was stunning and I especially liked and approved the choice of prayer flags!


I was on the water again for a river boat trip which I shared with a Dutch couple as it should have been 800 Baht but the guy said you three together 500 Baht each? We look at each other and in unison said "yes we're together!".


Whilst in Bangkok I found a bike shop a couple of miles from my hotel and dropped in where I got my headset rebuilt at no charge which was nice.


I was also down to my last glue on patch so bought some more of those.


In addition given my recent spate of punctures I picked up another inner tube.


Whilst in Bangkok I call in at an opticians to see if there was any way of polishing out the scratches in my lenses which had made my glasses next to useless but was told they would need to be replaced at a cost of $250. At that price I would wait until I got to the UK so I bought a pair of reading glasses off a street vendor for £2.50 so they will have to do for now.


Maths is obviously not his strong point

Right after a 24 hour delay as I didn’t feel great yesterday, I set off late today with a hangover, I never learn do I?


I put the MapsMe app into bike mode and it took me down a pretty narrow path down the side of the canal which worked OK.


It was a bit tight getting past people until about 300m along I came to a steep and narrow set of steps. I struggled with my bike while all the people I had passed on the way there caught me up and stood there waiting for me to clear the obstacle.


That was not going to happen so I then had to backtrack to the road and put the app into car mode which then took me back passed the end of the road my hotel was on and told me to turn right salmon up a three lane highway!

This is not going well, turning right was not going to happen so I went with the traffic flow and then passed the other end of the road which my hotel was on. Talk about deja vu all over again!


Finally I started making progress and was so switched over to bike on MapsMe again and was directed onto a backstreet which followed a railway line out of the city.


This had been bolarded off at some junctions I presume to stop if being a rat run but I was able to negotiate these with some minor traffic infringements along with a few motorbikes which I used for cover.


I was not far out of the city when having had no breakfast and it was approaching midday so I stopped for a refuel which was not very healthy. So much for the Bangkok detox starting today.


After about 15 miles I passed the airport there was a cluster of hotels which tested my resolve to call it a day. Maybe a kamikaze tequila and Long Island Iced Tea were not the best preparation for this. However, it was only 1 pm and I managed to convince myself to continue with a bribe or two along the way.

When you run out of interesting flavours to try there is always the Classic!

I passed a couple of temples today to add to the collection. The first is actually a monastery the less impressive temple being off to the left.


The second is where I ended up for the night after 40 miles ridden which was not a bad warm up after a few days off. I tried a couple of hotels which I didn’t like the sight of but finally found a resort which was set back off the road and a peaceful room where I could get an early night.


The next morning and the honeymoon was over as I had nearly 80 miles to cover as the first two hotels I wanted to stay in were booked up so had to look further afield. my rute was basically over the next few days to travel east to get to the border crossing into Cambodia at Aranyaprathet from there I would progress to Siem Reap.

I also had for the first time the beginnings of saddle rash. I think this is a combination of just applying vaseline yesterday as I am running out of the specialist chamoures cream which I’ve been unable to find anywhere on route and maybe my £11.50 Rapha Sky kit not quite being up to the expected quality. I applied some chamoures today but I have only a few days supply left!


It was a pretty uneventful day well a soft tyre first thing was the event which I again took mt standard approach, I pumped up and hoped for the best. I was on a big highway first thing but that diminished to two lanes with a hard shoulder for pretty much the rest of the day which I stuck to.


The back tyre was losing pressure slowly and I had to keep pumping it up at each 20 miles stop so I stuck with it for the day.


My saddle rash was getting worse as the day progressed so I applied some E45 cream on throughout the day to try and stop any further deterioration. This didn't seem to work and I was not in a good way when I reached the American themed cafe for a Thai themed lunch .


Talking of American themed since I entered Thailand I have seen lots of lowered pickups which I first thought were modified but as I saw more and more of them some of which were brand new I realised these were a factory spec but look like they should be on a Nascar track!


They all have tuned up and turbo charged diesel engines and can be seen coal rolling down the highways with their turbos wining and wastegate whistling as they go.


Anyway I was getting near my destination so switched to bike mode and was taken on a quiet backlanes route to for the rest of my ride.


Becoming my favorite alternative.

I hit the town centre and stocked up at the seven eleven as I do at the end of a ride.


Especially on fluids as I find as soon as I get off the bike I need to put away a lot so it is useful to have a big cold bottle of something close to hand rather than relying on what is available and expensive at the hotel reception or mini bar.


I eventually got to the resort I was booked into which was not where it was on the map but thankfully a shop owner pointed me in the right direction.


Once showered I looked in the mirror (you will be pleased to know I did not take any photos) and saw my backside was in a pretty bad way.


I woke up the next morning and thankfully my saddle rash had improved but I had a sore throat and didn’t feel 100%. I thought how lucky I had been that other than a few stomach bugs of mild food poisoning I’d not had any other illnesses so far but maybe my luck was about to run out.


My thoughts were to continue to Siem Reap and then see how I feel when I get there as I need to get to Cambodia anyway to be able to extend my time in Thailand as if I turned south now I would not have enough days left to make it down to Malaysia.


I have mapped out the 72 days remaining until I am due in Singapore including and have also included a couple of optional stop off which I could bin if necessary but even with the short day today I was still presently two days ahead of this schedule.



After breakfast the next morning I set about mending the puncture in my back tyre which was another pin prick hole in the inner tube and again I could find nothing that had caused this. I put a patch on it and put another inner tube into the tyre but as I blew that up it suddenly failed which I thought was the valve but eventually after trying a few time to connect the pump and get some air in, I took that inner tube out to find a pretty big hole in the side I can only think it got nipped as I put it in. A mended that and grabbed a second inner tube to use, this one inflated correctly. I oiled the chain and was on the road.


Despite not being 100% I made good progress and using my old Decathlon shorts was more comfortable on the bike, I put a good generous covering of vaseline on as well.


The area I was travelling thought was obviously good for sugar beet growing as I passed a refinery with lots of lorries loaded up and queueing to be offloaded.




As I approached the border I stopped at a seven eleven and spent all my loose change and small noted into sweets and biscuits to add to my travelling larder.


I also got a special treat as I didn't know what the freezer counters would hold across the border!


I then looked to get some money changed which I found I was not able to do on this side of the border so pressed on.


I know there was no issue getting into Cambodia but was annoyed at myself that I had not checked the process last night.



I worked out I needed a visa on arrival and was given a form to fill out one box was length of stay and again I could not remember what I was allowed so I put 27 days to be on the safe side. In the end was issued with a 30 day visa for $30, was into Cambodia on my way.



95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page