top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Mears

The Grand Depart

Updated: May 1, 2021

I had a great send off from home with a party on the 30th March with friends and family and a group roll out on Sunday morning with my sisters driving down the route and finishing off with a combined Mother's Day lunch.


The target for day one was to get to Skipton and there was an impressive group who came along to see me on my way and ride along.

The pelaton forms up


Once we had hit the road I was pulled over by the peloton and out came the bubbles


Our first point of call was Cobble Corner in Chipping which was a favorite of our cycle trips where I had a brew and some cake a few peeled off here but the rest of us carried on towards Dunsop Bridge.


I rolled into Wigglesworth at what should have been lunch but was probable a good thing to be behind schedule as I doubt we had not made a booking so had a combined Mother's Day lunch and then I suggested as it would be late when I got to Skipton we would say our goodbyes here.

Final Farewells at Wigglesworth

I made it into Skipton as the sun went down with just enough time to grab a pot noodle for my tea and a few biscuits for pudding!


I then found a spot to camp behind some old farm building.


Not really wild camping as it was in sight of the Skipton Building Society HQ!



The next morning I was skirting to the north of Leeds which is where my sister Becky lives so we arranged to meet up for breakfast as a roadside cafe which was great.


Which way is Hull??


Drawing into Tancaster was a welcome milestone as it was all flat from here to Hull so I could start to relax as the going would not be as tough and my pace would be more predictable.

My lunch stop was a local pie shop but I'm sure the cuisine will get more adventurous pretty soon.


I sat on a wall by the river enjoying the spring sunshine and as I ate contemplated the challenge ahead.


It was a lovely day so I made the most of the weather and as the hills were now behind me pushed on towards Hull.


After another night in the tent I arrived in Hull by 12 noon and headed for the nearest Wetherspoons I had plenty of time to kill so locked my bike to a chair outside offloaded my panniers to a vacant table and enjoyed a leisurely lunch before my newpher Gerard who lives in the city joined my for a beer.


He then walked with me to the waterfront where I took the bike route to board the waiting ferry and fuel up in the all you can eat buffet don't worry I will soon burn all this off!



Next stop Rotterdam.

81 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page